An unsung author?

11 Apr

When I was growing up, there were a couple of things which really impacted me as a person. The most important one being the huge book library at my home. Both dad and grandpa were voracious readers and had a ton of books everywhere you see.

Generally most of them were fiction and that too the action variety. I guess the major reason why I learned to read while very young was because of so many books lying around. I think I read my first ‘novel’ when I was in 3rd grade or so. Don’t remember which one.

Though there were a variety of books from all sorts of authors, my favorite author was Alistair MacLean. I still love the non-stop action, taut pace and the ‘full-of-testosterone’ dialogues :). I think I have read every one of his books; right from HMS Ulysses to the last one “Santorini”. Sure he petered out at the end and his books had a sameness about them but overall a fantastic read.

However I don’t see his name being mentioned anywhere in the list of authors who are a great read! Not sure why considering some of the best war movies like “Guns of Navarone”, “Where eagles dare”, “Force 10 from Navarone” and the fantastic “Ice station Zebra” sprouted from his pen. All of them made into movies and very successful ones at that.

Thanks for Wikipedia to point out something which I noticed now – there is an absolute absence of sex or romance in his books. Come to think of it, probably he was quite a prude. Maybe being the son of a Scottish minister had something to do with it.

I think the novel I will stay up at night to read will be the incomparable “Night without end”. If you haven’t read it, do.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Night_Without_End

A master on top of his craft. God speed Maestro MacLean.

–aNti

Night Without End

Night Without End (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One Response to “An unsung author?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Review : HMS Ulysses « loony radio - June 4, 2012

    […] An unsung author? (antitheftpotseat.wordpress.com) […]

What do you think?

